Arty Party 2 :Process

In response to Arty Party 2 theme: this is how I work I wanted to show off my paintbrushes in my studio because painting was all new to me and I was excited about it. This is how I created the series of 12 paintings, Brushes.

I took 12 photos on my phone of the paintbrushes on my studio table in different positions. It began as effortlessly as that. I printed all the photos out:

I cut 12 pieces of wood the same size in the wood department.  I gesso painted them. I drew the different paintbrush photos on them.

I started to think about colours.  I wanted to mess around with combinations : primary colours, complimentary colours, analogous  colours cool colours, warm colours, black and white. I drew out a colour plan for each board:

1589040796330511544891

I wanted to include 4 words in the paintings that explained my studio routine when I painted: arrive, work, fun, love it. I left some letters out to make them more interesting. I made stencils for them:

1589041031450987209630

I painted the 12 boards according to plan and really enjoyed the process and the outcomes:

Published by

Itssunnyinafricatoday

I am a conceptual artist.

Leave a comment