Revisiting PTSD…

This is a pile of my poems written over 3 years. The poems reflect PTSD.

20181214_094447

The question I am having to ask myself is, does my art reflect PTSD?! 

Here is what Post traumatic stress disorder is in a nutshell. This is a bullet point list of my symptoms and recovery. I think by revisiting it, my art can become more focused:

Trauma from being exposed to a dangerous, unexpected, life threatening event  /  trapped, hidden in a space from danger  /  what I thought was safe in life proved otherwise  /  intense fear, helplessness, terror  /  frozen trauma memory (hippocampus)  /  stress hormones blow a fuse  /  brain unfreezes every trauma memory in a safe place  /  it is like a maze you have to work through to get out  /   re-experiencing trauma : triggers, flashbacks, bad dreams, scary thoughts  /   staying away from reminders (people, places, things)  /  feel on edge, alert, ready for danger 24/7, can’t sleep or eat or take responsibility or concentrate  /  feel detached from close friends and family (negative thoughts, distorted feelings, emotionally numb to those close to before)  /  depression  /  no support before, no support after  /  PTSD shows up 6 months later  /  important: felt good about proaction during danger, learnt from bad event to make a positive daily program to build me up, writing therapy, talk therapy, counselling with flower essences, healthy diet, walking, tennis coaching, horse riding lessons, swimming lengths, climbing mountains, morning core exercises, breathing exercises, prayer, Bible reading, journaling, writing poems, gratitude diary, spa days.

Illustrating these ideas of PTSD conditions and treatment may enlighten or support someone! I want to combine painting, or collage with text (poem part of it) straight out of suffering even if it looks scary. Remember Basquiat  These are mental wounds exposed for well-being. Remember Faye Heft in theillustratedpatientblog

Published by

Itssunnyinafricatoday

I am a conceptual artist.

Leave a comment